Team:

Curriculum Vitae:

Norman Bannenberg studied Economics at the University of Duisburg-Essen. In his bachelor thesis, he analysed the long-term relationship between health care expenditure and GDP in selected OECD countries using cointegration methods. His master thesis focused on the question how hospital privatisations affect the probability of a delivery by Caesarean section. There he applied a difference-in-differences approach to a German health insurance company's patient-level data set.

Since January 2014, Norman Bannenberg had worked as a student assistant at the Chair of Health Economics until he was hired as a researcher in July 2017. Apart from his research activities, he is responsible for the chair's as well as the third-party funded project's finances.

Fields of Research:

Norman Bannenberg's research interests include empirical health economics and applied microeconometrics. Especially, his present research focuses on the topics demographic change and long-term care. He is currently involved in a research project funded by the European Investment Bank and works together with researchers at the University of Oslo and the Cass Business School in London.

Norman Bannenberg

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

NormanBannenberg, M.Sc.

Raum:
WST-C 09.12
Telefon:
+49 201 18-32909
E-Mail:

Lebenslauf:

Norman Bannenberg studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. In seiner Bachelorarbeit untersuchte er das langfristige Gleichgewichtsverhalten von Gesundheitsausgaben und BIP in ausgewählten OECD-Staaten mit Hilfe von Kointegrationsverfahren. Seine Masterarbeit behandelte die Fragestellung inwiefern Krankenhausprivatisierungen Auswirkungen auf die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Kaiserschnittgeburt haben. Dabei wandte er einen Difference-in-Differences-Ansatz auf einen Patientendatensatz eines großen deutschen Krankenversicherungsunternehmens an.

Ab Januar 2014 arbeitete Norman Bannenberg als studentische Hilfskraft am Lehrstuhl für Gesundheitsökonomik und übte diese Tätigkeit bis zu seiner Einstellung als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Juli 2017 aus. Neben seiner Forschungstätigkeit ist er für die Finanzen des Lehrstuhls sowie der Drittmittelprojekte mitverantwortlich.

Forschungsgebiete:

Norman Bannenbergs Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich der empirischen Gesundheitsökonomik und der angewandten Mikroökonometrie. Insbesondere befasst sich seine aktuelle Forschung mit den Themen demographischer Wandel und Langzeitpflege. Er ist derzeit in ein von der European Investment Bank gefördertes Projekt involviert, bei dem er mit Forschern der Universität Oslo und der Cass Business School in London zusammenarbeitet.